An academic year starts on 1 October and finishes with 30 September of the subsequent calendar year. It consists of two semesters: winter and summer. Each semester is completed by an examination session, winter or summer one respectively.

After a winter / summer examination session students are entitled to a winter / summer break respectively. After the basic examination session, the first and second retake examination sessions’ dates are decided on. The dean establishes a detailed organizational plan of an academic year, including the dates of beginning and finishing lectures and classes, examination sessions, retake examination sessions as well as study breaks.